top of page

Hurricane Claim Form

Insurance companies must send payment for hurricane damage within 30 days of receiving satisfactory proof of loss, which may be triggered by the initial inspection of the field adjuster on behalf of the insurance company. This requirement is in addition to its obligation to pay for hurricane related damage under the insurance policy, and the requirement gives rise to a separate legal remedy under Louisiana law even when payment for hurricane damage is ultimately received by an insured.

 

So, what happens if your insurance company failed to send you a check for hurricane damage within 30 days of receiving satisfactory proof of loss?

 

Louisiana law provides for a penalty of fifty percent (50% of any payment found by the court to be made greater than 30 days after the insurance company received satisfactory proof of loss, in addition to the payment of your attorney's fees by the insurance company.

For example, if an insurance company made a payment in the amount of $20,000 for your covered hurricane damages greater than 30 days after the initial inspection of your property, you also may be entitled to a $10,000 penalty, along with the payment of your attorney's fees. If you feel that you received an untimely payment from your insurance company, there is still time to act.

 

Please contact us below to schedule a free consultation and case review.

Let's Connect About Your Claim

Phone

Email

Social Media

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page